The Australian Treasurer, Wayne Swan, has announced the appointment of Mr Ross Bunyon, Ms Nancy Fox, Mr Stephen Parbery and Mr Michael Perry to the Energy Security Council.


The Energy Security Council was established as part of the Clean Energy Future package to advise on possible support measures to address energy security risks.


Mr Bunyon has experience in the electricity sector, including as chairman of Eraring Energy from 2000 to 2010 and as a director of Pacific Power from 1996 to 2000.


Ms Fox has 30 years of financial services and insurance experience within Australia and the Asia-Pacific region. She brings debt and structured finance experience arising from transactions for financial institutions, infrastructure projects and utilities.


Mr Parbery is a founding partner and board director of PPB Advisory (which provides insolvency services, and restructuring and other advice) and is a chartered accountant and registered liquidator.  He has experience in investment banking in Australia and overseas and has been involved in a wide range of private infrastructure projects, including in energy. 


On 12 October 2011 the Government announced that it had appointed Dr Michael Vertigan as chair of the Energy Security Council.  Membership of the Council also includes the chairs of the Australian Energy Market Commission, the Australian Energy Regulator and the Australian Securities and Investments Commission.